Deer Species

Deer Species - The UK has six species of deer, these include the native Roe Deer and Red Deer. Fallow Deer have also been in the UK so long they are now very much considered to be part of the UK countryside. Other deer species introduced to the UK include Sika Deer, Chinese Water Deer and Muntjac Deer.

Six Species Licensed 1a

Each of the UK's deer species can be quite different in terms of appearance and behavioural characteristics, ranging from the diminutive Muntjac to large lowland Red deer. The spread and population of each deer species can also be quite specific to geographical location.  

For more information about each individual deer species, click on the links below:

Muntjac Deer

Roe Deer

Fallow Deer

Sika Deer

Chinese Water Deer (CWD)

Red Deer

For more information on the behavioural characteristics and dates of the various ruts for each deer species follow this link: when-do-the-uk-deer-species-rut

Stalking the Deer Species

At County Deer Stalking our main stalking grounds are frequented by Roe, Fallow and Muntjac deer. For more information about stalking each individual deer species, click on the links below:

Muntjac Deer Stalking

Roe Deer Stalking

Roe Buck Stalking

Fallow Deer Stalking

Sika Deer Stalking

Chinese Water Deer Stalking

Red Deer Stalking


NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

Our website uses Cookies to help improve your experience.
If you continue to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of Cookies.